The Book Thief Review

image
Photo credit: Orthogonalvector

The Book Thief filled me with so much metaphors. I don’t know if it was because of Markus Zusak’s “Narrator” or it was just his plain artistically choosen words that inclined me into falling, much deeper, for every beautifully tailored thought he has ever crafted- which may also mean one thing or another.

But for what it’s worth, this book is definitely a must read for all  old, (probably) lost and emotional souls, like mine.

A little scoop about the book:

It’s all about the story of Liesel Meminger and her initiative in shaking people up to see what was really happening during World War 2, or better known as the Hitler days.

Due to the accusations that her parents were communist, she was sent to Hemmil Street to live in a foster home where she met the Hubermann couple.

On their way to Munich, with one eye open and the other still dreaming, she saw her brother die. They burried him in the snow along the way, which then led her to steal her first book.

After that, you’ll probably learn that there will be series of thievery.. and stories about war, friendship, family and love.

5 things I like about this book:

  1. The narrator was Death. Who ever thought that death could even speak its mind? We thought that death hunts us but in the story, it was the other way around. Death was hunted by humans. Lol. I guess I’d also like to hear a story written by Life. I bet it will be as optimistic as it could possibly get.
  2. Words. Too powerful and strong it could either wreack and tear someone apart or it could bring colors and warmth to a broken heart. It was touching in so many ways. I could taste the salt in my eyes as I read each pages with so much wonder about what was inside Zusak’s head while writing this book.
  3. The story occured during World War II. I’ve always had a thing about WW II!! They’re always written in black and white and there just too much to know and learn about what really happened and why it happened back there. And also, I like hearing it because somehow, it inspires me to change the system that prevails to exist despite the many efforts to bring it down.
  4. It was tragic. My heart will always be overwhelmed by tragic endings. Some people may not like it but to me, it represents openess and truth that some stories, and I mean real life stories, don’t end up with happy endings. I did tell you that these kind of stories leave a mark, did I?
  5. The story. “The Book Thief” was fluently written. Not only was it devastatingly powerful but also an eye-opener to the blinded ones. #racism #abuse #goverment #hate #pyramid

How I wish I could write a better review about how I enjoyed this book but words fail me.

Here, I’ll share you some of my favorite lines:

  • It’s the leftover humans. The survivors. They’re the ones I can’t stand to look at, although on many occasions I still fail. I deliberately seek out the colors to keep my mind off them, but now and then, I witness the ones who are left behind, crumbling among the jigsaw puzzle of realization, despair, and surprise. They have punctured hearts. They have beaten lungs.
  • Bold and bright, a trilogy of happiness would continue for summer’s duration and into autumn. It would then be brought abruptly to an end, for the brightness had shown suffering the way.
  • Trust was accumulated quickly, due primarily to the brute strength of the man’s gentleness, his thereness.
  • “Look at the colors,” Papa said. It’s hard not to like a man who not only notices the colors, but speaks them.
  • So much good, so much evil. Just add water.
  • Because everyone had been fooled, and fooled again.
  • The human heart is a line, whereas my own is a circle, and I have the endless ability to be in the right place at the right time. The consequence of this is that I’m always finding humans at their best and worst. I see their ugly and their beauty, and I wonder how the same thing can be both.

The book sent shivers down to my spine. I absolutely want to be like Liesel Meminger. How can someone be so inlove and chaotic with words at the same time?

Rating it 9.5/10.

 

Author: summerbeans

Collecting lights 💕

2 thoughts on “The Book Thief Review”

Leave a Reply

