Waiting for April

image

This is a book that you’d definitely need if you’re in for a slump and romantic sci-fi contemporary. It has everything in it: romance, drama, action, mystery, fanstasy and tragedy *winks*

Waiting for April made me feel nostalgic about April and Scott’s ending (and future), so note that here are some of my thoughts and spoilers about it:

As far as April is concerned, she’s just a normal seventeen-year-old, looking forward to spending spring break with her friends and going to college in the fall. April doesn’t know she died 19 times already, not reaching her 18th birthday. And for nineteen-year-old Scott Parker, who never aged unless April fall’s inlove with him, spending quality time with his soul mate has proved difficult ever since her tragic death in 1729. On the 20th life of April, Scott was determidned to race against the clock to win her heart and save her life.

Patience requires a lot of effort to muster it, but for Scott, it was easy as pie. It took him almost decades to find April to protect her from her deaths. And isnt’t that romantic?

Humans usually do not have the capacity to wait most especialy when everything is buzziling for deadlines and pressure, but for Scott, waiting was a form of his love for his one true love, who died apparently before they even got married. (Ouch)

The story took my interest for one reason: It was a legitimate fiction. It was not trying hard to become realistic at all. It was just one of a kind. It was unique and definitely heart breaking. The kind of story that I’d recommed to all young adult bookworms out there who likes a refreshing book to read.

So let’s start with the plot: I don’t really know how to begin. I’m out words. It was all about reicarnation, immortality and finding ways on how to turn back time for April to live noramally again.

It’s kind of new to me because it’s my first time to read a book that has some intriguing questions, like: 1) How can April be reincarnated again? 2) How come Scott became immortal after her death? 3) Who is Rowan and why is he immortal too? The book did not answer those questions even if they tried to mix it up with several ancient histories about comming back to life after death. But still, I’m not buying soulmates for an answer.

The narration was good. The ending was perfect (because I love tragic endings). The flow of writing was just enough to make the readers catch up. The mystery was engaging and the love story was a lovely-dovey. So yeah, I’m rating this 8/10!

Still, the ending was a cliffhanger, I can’t wait for the next sequel to be released! because I am really anticipating for Scott’s return and for more answers to my questions about reincarnation. I’am not a fan of any of it but I’m more than interested to know more about it. 

Overall, the book was too adorable to handle. I loved it from cover to cover because everything in it was so full suspense which was executed in a remarkable way.

Ps: This is not a vampire book, (hahah) and I’m realy excited to read more of Jaime Lauren’s work!

Author: summerbeans

Collecting lights 💕

Leave a Reply

