Winter Korea

SAMSUNG CSC

Traveling abroad was one of my dreams ever since I was a child so when my co-workers invited me to go to Korea with them, I didn’t hesitate to say yes. Who doesn’t want to go to Korea, right? A country known for its cosmetic industry and Kpops – of course, I’ve always wanted to know more about its culture.

SAMSUNG CSC

Here are some of my bullets about the trip:

SAMSUNG CSC

  • The weather is really freezing. I didn’t belive my mother at first when she told me that I would need 2-3 layers of jacket. I was quite confident that I’d be able to tolerate it like when I was in Baguio but I was wrong. Note that when other countries say winter, it’s legit winter. Do not to underestimate it.

SAMSUNG CSC

  • The food. Koreans love kimchi. They always serve it as side dish in restaurants (for free). It’s like their national food. And I don’t know why but it tastes better there: ughh, the original korean kimchi is something! Other than that, they have a lot of vegetables on their menu’s too. As for the taste, I guess they prefer spicy, less sweet and not too salty food. #hashtag HealthyLiving.

SAMSUNG CSC

  • The place. It’s clean and peaceful. People segregates their wastes accordingly. The subways are systematic though sometimes confusing. The metropolis is filled with skyscrapers which makes it feel like we were inside a comic book so the roads feels busy even at dawn.

SAMSUNG CSC

  • The people. As per observation; 1) Koreans are very attached to their mobile phones. Whenever we’re on the subway, they are always focused on their screens. 2) They are also very disciplined and respectful, most especially to their elders. They always bow when you smile at them. 3) They are affectionate. I don’t know if it’s just a valentines feeling -but gee there were couple shirts everywhere and they all look sweet. 4) They are well reserved. They don’t talk loud and sometimes I feel like they’re just whispering all the time.

img_1687

PS. I only got 5 days to interact with them so I don’t mean to generalize my obeservations. Overall, they are one of my favorite people because they are all nice and genenrous. I can’t help but enjoy talking to  them, and I like staring at them too. I don’t really know why. Maybe because they’re overloaded with cuteness.

Here are my bullets about our Itenerary:

SAMSUNG CSC

  • Gyeongbokgung palace. There are 5 palaces in Seoul and this place is known to be the oldest and grandest. According to what I read, this was the first royal palace built by Joseon dynasty about 600 years ago. It has colorful designs, spacious gardens, monumental architecture and photo-scenic spots so you can just freely enjoy the place while taking cute photos for instagram.
SAMSUNG CSC
Inside the palace
SAMSUNG CSC
Changing ceremony.

Gwanghamun Square Park is located just in front of the palace so you can also stroll around if you have more time.

SAMSUNG CSC
Bukchon hanok village.

SAMSUNG CSC

  • Bukchon Hanok Village. This is like the calle crisologo in Vigan except that this place is clustered with different types of Hanoks (houses built in traditional Korean style) and the maze inside this neighborhood looks wonderful, most especially the thatch roofed houses.
img_1609
Wearing Hanok’s for free.
  • Kstyle Hub Building. This is a tourist friendly place that provides information about korean culture and food while letting you participate in various traditional experiences.
SAMSUNG CSC
Saranghe oppa.

What’s nice about this place is that it caters the hallyu experience where you can take photos with your favorite kpop stars on screen and visit various places through their 3D glasses equiped with 360-degree panorama gallery.

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

PS. They give a lot of freebies here to take as souvenirs when you’re done, and they also let you wear hanboks for free.

img_1629
N Seoul tower.
  • Namsan Tower. I keep saying that it’s Nami tower during our trip (ha ha!). I don’t really know what’s special here but upon further research, I learned this is an observatory and communication tower. It also marks the highest peak in Seoul (262m high) which means you have to ride cable cars for you to be able to reach the top.

PS. Alternate route on the road is also possible if you’re legs are strong enough and you can spare some time.

SAMSUNG CSC
Nami Island.

SAMSUNG CSC

  • Nami Island. This is a mini-love island also called Namuseom. This was popularized because of “Winter Sonata” (Remember Yong-Joon and Choi?)

SAMSUNG CSC

This is a man made island formed as a result of the construction of cheongpyeong dam. Here you can find beautiful lined trees and mini-bridges.

SAMSUNG CSC

Ps. I call this love island because we met a filipino couple who got engaged here. ~love love~

SAMSUNG CSC

  • Ski Resort. There are several ski resorts to choose from in Korea. As for us, we went to Elysian Gangchin Ski Resort. It was our first time to ski so it was really difficult at first. We needed several hours to practice.

img_1660

What I personally love about this activity is the feeling speed when your sliding from a steep slope.

SAMSUNG CSC

I stumbled too many times in different positions but it was worth the pain. The ski rod was also difficult to control but once you get to muster it, you get to experience the intensity of real skiing.

img_1672

Huhu. Too much feels for this sport !!!

SAMSUNG CSC

  • Shoping and Food Centers: 1) Insadong 2) Hongdae 3) Myeogdong 4) Namdaemun 5) etc. etc. There’s a lot to choose from and all you need is a map.

SAMSUNG CSC

PS. people here are really generous, we got a lot of give aways while shopping and their products are really good!

img_1684

  • Han River. This was actually an epic fail trip for us because we got lost. In case you want to try the han river cruise you must set a schedule there on weekened and do research about the direction. It was -6 degrees back then. We were lost, we were tired, we were cold and hungry but surprisingly, we were having fun. At least we were able to see the city view from the river deck upong walking at the freezing zone, haha, and mam Maro even found her cold-city-man.

SAMSUNG CSCSAMSUNG CSC

  • Petite France. I’ve always been a fan of little prince so I found this place interesting, plus the french-style houses here are colorful and really charming.

SAMSUNG CSC

  • YG Building and Gangnam Builduing. Our co-workers are addicted to BTS, EXO, etc. so we took the odds of strolling on a cold winter weather to visit these places. They say that when you are lucky, you are likely to see the oppas here. As for us, I guess there will always be next time.

SAMSUNG CSC

As for the expenses, there are coupons and discounts given to foreigners whenever you go there for a vacation so it is much wiser to do a research before going. I wish I could expound this more so that I could share more tips but you can contact me for details instead.

SAMSUNG CSC

It’s my first time in another country so I can’t really compare the experience. But regardless, for me this feels like living in a dream for 5 consecutive days. It was absolutely fun and exciting.

SAMSUNG CSC

I’ve always been kuripot when it comes to managing my expenses but what I learned about this trip is that it’s okay to spend once in a while for yourself and your loved ones.

SAMSUNG CSC

We only live once so we have to try our best to experience things. We are not getting any younger so we should give ourselves a break.

SAMSUNG CSC

While it is true that we should focus on investing for our future while we are young, it won’t hurt to reward yourself every once in a while. Remember that every journey is a metaphor for a lifetime.

img_1685

Kamsahamnida Korea! You are a wonderful country, I wish to see you soon again. Anyeong! Saranghe!! ❤

Author: summerbeans

Collecting lights 💕

Leave a Reply

