Communicate

IMG_2674

Question. How do we stay good amidst all the bad and chaos in this world? A weighty matter that is dangling my head lately. A pious inquiry that has to be discussed now or never. It keeps my mind traversing through empty pages, wandering back and forth to where my values are rooted from, or do I even have those to begin with? Kindly keep me sane for the next few minutes and I will tell you more about it.

I used to say that I would never change for a person; that I love myself and those who are willing to be in my life should accept me for who I am. Easy as that. But I learned that this idea, as I grew up, was nothing but childish. There is a certain point in our life where we should learn how to adjust and change in order for people to stay.

Communication has played a vital role in all healthy relationships. Once you cut it down or blurry it, it could bring a drastic change not only into our daily living but all through out our lives. That is why it is important to know how to speak up when we are already weighted in. The only difference is that we should learn how to express ourselves in a calm and collected way.

I hate how bad I was conducting this past few days. I know that I should be more flexible but deep inside, my insecurities were eating me. I hate how I was turning ugly and how my pride was stinking sky-high. I only thought about how hurt I was so I kept on misbehaving. I  kept acting and talking fooolishly thinking that nothing would change, but unfortunately, we only notice that something is altered once someone steps out of the line to speak and act about it.

They say that very reason of our existence is to interact with people and become part of it, the same way it is with us. But losing the channels that connect us with these people because of our attitude is not justifiable in any aspect. Isn’t it terrifying to know that one day, we’ll be gone and no one would even notice and ask why we’re no longer there? Keep this in mind: We need people in our lives.

Most of the time, we fight and mess up because we can’t relay our true feelings. We say we don’t know but deep inside we actually do, and we just don’t know how to say it. We act cool and find faults unto others, yes we have varying tendencies, but at the end of the day, aren’t we all just yearning for one thing? Understanding. And how do we get that?

First, learn how to understand yourself – know your feelings and why you’re acting that way. Then understand others – know why they are responding to you that way. And when you finally grasp the reason behind, coin your thoughts before blurting them out, because words are double-edged sword, it may bring damage to you and the person you’re talking with. Think of yourself recieving those words, how would you feel? Lastly, be honest and slowly convey your feelings out in the open.

Don’t be afraid to speak up, just don’t forget that in return, you should know how to listen. You may get a positive or negative feedback, but that’s okay, that is still communicating.  Try to contemplate on it instead, afterall, there is nothing greater in this this world than to be open and with the one’s we love, right?

Author: summerbeans

Collecting lights 💕

Leave a Reply

